What’s your Motivation?

What motivates you?

“I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.”– Michael Jordan

What an amazing athlete. When he had achieved his goals, he made new ones to blow the previous ones out of the water.

Those days when you want to stay in bed, pull a sickie, cut your workout by five minutes are not an option.

I do have those moments, not going to lie to you. It is well documented that I wanted to give up after a really crappy run the other week, but with so many people being supportive when I least expect it really helps drive my motivation. Injuring my knee early into training was a test and it’s funny that at that time it encouraged me to get back on track more than a stupid woman with her dog sideswiping me.

I bungee jumped (if you didn’t hear me shouting from the rooftops) mid-December. I named from October 2011 – October 2012 the Year of the Unstoppable. I also have the fact that I am running not only on behalf MS society,  but my sister. I have no excuses to hide behind that would make quitting an option. So no pressure then …

For me this is why I do what I do when many of you are tucked up in bed. Those twenty extra stomach crunches, that extra five minutes out on the road. The circuit training where I’m face first in mud in a south London park early on Saturday morning .. and Rory our PT is a BEAST if he sees you standing still.

If you find YOUR reason for getting up an hour early in the morning, getting off the bus a couple of stops early, a yard further on that run or refusing that second bit of cake (don’t worry one *small* slice is okay) then remind yourself of that. That’s what gets you further on in your goals in order to smash them and start again like Mike. If your goal is to start training then getting up and dressed ready to start it is one thing off that to-do list already, congratulations! Now go out there ..

And don’t quit. There is no finish line.

I can accept failure. Everyone fails at something. But I can’t accept not trying.” – Michael Jordan.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

